Classes and Workshops

Umpires contribute greatly towards the successful competitions at Auckland Netball and we support the development of existing and new umpires by offering a range of classes, workshops and squads throughout the year. 

Our Become an Umpire Programmes are a great first step and involve sitting the NNZ Centre Theory Test, the minimum level recommended for umpiring intermediate school, secondary school and club grades at Auckland Netball, and our Year 5&6 Umpire workshops are a new initiative to support and enhance the 6v6 version of the game. Our wonderful Umpire Committee are also coordinating Umpire Technique sessions over three Saturdays in May and June. 

BECOME AN UMPIRE

Our Become an Umpire Evening Programmes are fun, engaging and cover the fundamentals of umpiring across two sessions: theory and practical. As part of the Become an Umpire Programme you will sit the NNZ Centre Theory Test – the minimum level recommended for umpiring intermediate school, secondary school and club grades at Auckland Netball. 

Players and coaches will benefit from this course too, because knowing the rules inside-out gives you the best foundation to compete. 

CLASSES – ST JOHNS

  • Wednesday 20 March & Wednesday 27 March | 6.00pm – 8.30pm
  • Monday 13 May & Friday 17 May | 6.00pm – 8.30pm
  • Monday 29 July & Friday 2 August | 6.00pm – 8.30pm 
  • Tuesday 3 September & Thursday 5 September | 6.00pm – 8.30pm 

$40 per person

CLASSES – MT EDEN

  • Monday 17 June & Tuesday 18 June | 6.00pm – 8.30pm 

$40 per person 

SCHOOL HOLIDAY CLASSES

OVERVIEW

Come along during the school holidays for a fun and dynamic umpiring course split over two sessions, theory and practical.  A great introduction to umpiring in a non-threatening environment with your peers! Get in quick – this popular class books up.

CLASSES

  • 1 Day Programme
  • Auckland Netball, St Johns
  • Windmill Road, Mt Eden
  • School years 7 – 13
  • 10am – 3pm
  • $45 per person

YEAR 5 & 6 UMPIRE WORKSHOP

This workshop is essential for everyone who will be umpiring the MotherEarth futureFERNS 6v6 game format. It covers the rules, the variations from netball’s traditional game format, hand signals and positioning, balancing a ‘friendly whistle’ with enforcing rules fairly, and shares practical tips and strategies for umpiring this age-group. 

CLASSES – ST JOHNS

  • Thursday 2 May | 6.30pm – 8.30pm
  • Wednesday 5 June | 6.30pm – 8.30pm 

$25 per person

 

CLASSES – MT EDEN

  • Monday 6 May | 6.30pm – 8.30pm 

$25 per person